Connect ZTE MF667 USB Modem on Ubuntu 14.04

I’ve recently purchased ZTE MF667 USB Modem from Mobinil Egypt and I had some hard time connecting it to my Ubuntu 14.04 laptop, the main problem was that the modem is read as MSM (Mass Storage Media) not as USB Modem, I tried installing usb-modeswitch library but I couldn’t get it to work, I think it’s pretty advanced for me to configure it.

So I kept searching for something simpler, fortunately I found sakis3g which is a library that uses usb-modeswitch to switch the modem, setting it up is pretty easy, from their github page

  1. Install libusb-1.0-0-dev
    sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0-dev
  2. for ubuntu/debian create a link in /usr/include to the libusb.h file, or edit the included file with your path in sakis3g source code, but I think that the link is much easier
    sudo ln -s /usr/include/libusb-1.0/libusb.h /usr/include/libusb.h
  3. Now clone the repo using git, if you don’t want to install Git you can just download the repo from github through a bit “Download Zip” button on the homepage
    git clone https://github.com/Trixarian/sakis3g-source.git
  4. inside the sakis3g-source directory, compile the library
    ./compile
  5. Finally copy the compiled file to your bin folder to be able to rub sakis3g command from your terminal
    sudo cp build/sakis3gz /usr/bin/sakis3g

Now plug-in the modem, wait till the modem is registered on the network you’ll know when the LED turns blue (steady or flashing) then run sakis3g command, follow the wizard (it’s pretty simple), the APN name is mobinilweb , Mobinil has no username or password for their APN, but you can’t leave those empty in the wizard as it’ll cancel it so just enter any values (a, b) for example; the device is already registered on the network.

Now please Mobinil stop using the auto-run software for USB modems that works only on Windows, Mac, switch to the Web-based management interface, there are other operating systems you know!!!

4 comments

  1. You share interesting things here. I think that your page can go
    viral easily, but you must give it initial boost and i know how to do it,
    just type in google for – mundillo traffic increase go viral

  2. Maged Mohsen · · Reply

    Hi Eslam
    I did what you said exactly but i got struck by this message after running skais3g:
    Port /dev/ttyUSB3 is currently occupied by 924 ModemManager.
    May I demand your help. please?

  3. Hello Maged,

    It seems like the ModemManager is trying to automatically configure the modem once you connect it, I think you have 2 options:

    1. You can let the ModemManager configure your modem and then maybe it works out for you (my post was about 3 years ago so during that time the default Ubuntu Software might be able to operate the modem without any external packages now)

    2. Stop ModemManager from auto-configuring your modem, by googling this I found a couple of links
    https://mail.gnome.org/archives/networkmanager-list/2013-October/msg00038.html
    https://linux-tips.com/t/prevent-modem-manager-to-capture-usb-serial-devices/284

    I can’t tell whether they work or not but you can try, Note: Please make sure whenever you edit a file to make a backup of it first so that you can roll-back your changes if needed.

Leave a comment